Skip to content

taking over

August 12, 2011

I received an e-mail from Nicole that read: “Feel free to write on whatever you’d want to: belly dancing, biking, kids, silly pics, food – BLOG TAKEOVER. But no pressure.” This came complete with her login information, which I am fairly sure she will regret giving to me.

My name is Anne, I am a 30-something mom of 2. Nicole and I have similar eating styles, so we often collaborate on recipes. My family are vegetarians, and my husband is allergic to, well, most things. It makes cooking complicated at times. I am a former dancer (modern/ballet), who loves yoga and pilates, and has recently taken up cycling. My path to cycling was convoluted, I was looking for a form of exercise that would fit into my work/mom schedule, and could be done with my kids. I took up running. After complaining to Nicole about the amount of pain I was having in my hip, I ended up seeing a orthopedist and being diagnosed with a bone tumor and several labral tears. I had surgery a few months ago, and cycling was the first form of exercise I was allowed to do in my physical therapy. Let’s just say, I am enjoying it immensely, and racking up about 90 miles a week (a mix of on-road and spinning). In addition to that I do about 3-4 hours of yoga a week, and am easing my way back into dance with a super-fun belly dance class.

Given all the gorgeous produce in the markets at the moment, I thought I would share with you a salad I have been eating a lot of this week, as well as a sinfully delicious peach-blackberry cobbler recipe.

salad:
lettuce, heirloom tomatos, sweet corn, black beans (I highly recommend the dried beans from Rancho Gordo, cooked for the salad), a bit of a sharp cheese (cheddar or the like)

dressing:
combine one avocado with a scant 1/4 cup of nonfat greek yogurt, 2ish T of lime juice, 1/8t chili powder, 1/8t cumin, sea salt, and a touch of liquid smoke. Feel free to ramp up the spices, I am cooking for young kids who have a sensitive palate.

This salad packs in a fair amount of protein, and passed the husband test.
untitled-1656

Cobbler:
8 fresh peaches (skinned, pitted and sliced), some blackberries

combine 1/4c sugar with 1teaspoon of molasses (this will give you fresh brown sugar).
1/2t cinnamon
1/4t nutmeg
1 shot amaretto (I am big on cooking with alcohol)
2T chia seeds (these will help thicken the juice)

combine all of the above, and bake for a few minutes in a pre-heated 425*F oven. While this is baking combine the following:

1c whole grain flour (I used spelt due to allergies)
1/4c sugar mixed with 1t molasses (brown sugar)
1t baking powder
a pinch or 2 of ground sea salt
4-5T butter
you are making a sweet biscuit here, so combine all ingredients with a pastry knife (or fork) until quite crumbly. Add some hot water to this (1/4 cup or so) until it is just barely combined.

Take out the fruit from the oven, drop the pastry on top in heaping spoonfuls, and bake for about 30 minutes, or until the top is browned.

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 12:55 pm

    I love this! My favorite line from this post: I’m big on cooking with alcohol.

Leave a Reply

