Skip to content

Here’s something I rarely make: pasta.

August 4, 2011
tags: , , ,

Michael and I both grew up in an Italian households, and we pretty much always had pasta. Not as the shining star of the meal, but usually in some capacity.

As an adult, I’m not particularly drawn to it often. I guess I feel like it’s  usually too carb-y, and I’ll be damned if I’m using up my calories on that.

However. As I make my way through my training schedule (next week marks the half way point), I have found my glycogen stores in need of replenishing from time to time. Michael will never say no when I’m making pasta for dinner.

So, this little recipe seemed handy. I pitched a “non-tomato sauce” idea at him, and he said he’d be open minded.

While in the North End, we stopped in at one of our favorite places, DePasquale’s Homemade Pasta Shoppe. We grabbed cavatelli (my choice) and squid ink (his choice).

I did a little Foodgawkering for ideas, and saw this, and then used it as a jumping point.

Here’s what I did:

  • 1+ cups of fresh or dried cavatelli
  • 1 cup peas (I prefer fresh for the crunch, but frozen would be ok)
  • 1/2 cup green beans, cut into 1″ pieces
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 cup of basil, loosely packed
  • salt, pepper to taste
  • ~ 2 tsp of olive oil, total
  • burrata or mozzarella to top (optional)

Set a pot of water to boil. In a sautee pan, put a little oil in to just coat the bottom of the pan. Toss in onions and start to cook down. When they’re soft, add remaining vegetables and cook until just tender, about 5 minutes. Add salt and pepper.

In a blender (I used my Magic Bullet) combine cottage cheese with basil, and about a tsp of olive oil. Set aside.

Place pasta into boiling water and cook as directed. Drain and add to saute pan with your veggies. Pour over the mock pesto you’ve made with cottage cheese and basil. Mix thoroughly to combine. Top with burrata (which is what we had) or mozzarella if you’d like.

I hope you like it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

