Skip to content

Bears. Beets. Battlestar Gallactica.

August 3, 2011
tags: , ,

Here’s to hoping you’re a fan of Dwight Schrute on The Office. If not, this is significantly less funny. Also, beets and Dwight are now perma-linked in my brain. Thank you, media.

This is what I had for lunch yesterday. Roasted beets, BBQ tofu, and sliced cucumber.

This is barely a recipe, but here’s what I do for the beets:

Preheat oven to 400*.

Slice beets into thin slices. I like them to crisp up a little, so I try to make them as thin as possible (without using a mandolin). Lay on a baking sheet that you’ve lined with parchment paper.

Using a brush, sweep a bit of olive oil onto each beet. I prefer doing it this way because then the beets aren’t too oily.

Top with a little salt and pepper. Roast for 40 minutes. That’s it!

As for the tofu, here’s what you’ll need:

  • a block of extra firm tofu
  • BBQ sauce of your choice (I used Annie’s Organics)
  • Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400*. (I cooked the beets and tofu at the same time.)

Wrap block of tofu in papertowels. Wrap it next in a dishcloth. Place on a plate and top with something heavy (I use a cast iron skillet). Leave it for an hour so the water presses out.

Slice into the shape of your choice. (Moosewood Cafe books have a great tutorial on “tofu math” that always amuses the hell out of me.) I like them in strips like this.

Shake a bit of Bragg’s on each one, and then brush with BBQ sauce. Line your baking dish with parchment paper (this will make cleanup easier and the tofu will crisp without getting stuck to anything) and place the tofu on it. Bake 30 minutes. That’s it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

