Skip to content

DIY: The Friendship Bracelet Trend

July 18, 2011
tags: ,

With the friendship bracelets of the 70s and 80s popping up everywhere, I really wanted to try my hand at it again (I’m sure I’ve gained dexterity since I was 13). The last time I made one was in probably 1989, with my girlfriend Gia. We would gather up all our floss, and pin the knots to the rug to keep them in place while we made these bracelets. You should also imagine Janet Jackson playing in the background.

I saw a bunch of gorgeous handmade friendship bracelets on Pinterest (I pinned them, of course!) and I was smitten. I wanted to make one right away. I made it over to Jo-Ann Fabrics before they closed yesterday, and started on one close to bedtime. I’ll admit I tend to sometimes start projects really late and when I am kind of foggy. Whoops. So this morning, I started it again, and it took no time at all.

So hey, this is my first pass at it, and I think it’s not half bad. I have ideas for making this better though (more colors, etc). I made a little slip knot in the back to close it, so I can take it on and off. Better than having to cut it off your wrist, I think.

The blog Honestly WTF gave me a refresher course in bracelet making. And I made my way over to this YouTube video for a tutorial on making a slip knot for the closure. Ta da! Happy knotting.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 4:42 pm

    So cute! My sis and I used a clipboard at the top to hold our thread down. LOL. We used to fight over the one clipboard we had so ferociously!!!

  2. July 19, 2011 5:11 pm

    Haha! I love it! I’m wondering why on earth I never thought of using a clipboard. Bwah.

  3. melissa permalink
    July 20, 2011 8:15 pm

    omg. i remember making these, and I only really knew one way to make them (diagonal stripe pattern). We’d go to the craft store and load up on embroidery thread. I think it was late 80s early 90s most definitely.

  4. July 21, 2011 4:17 pm

    Very cute!!!

    I remember back in the day having friendship bracelets made of BOONDOGGLE. or whatever that was called. something plasticky and weird!

  5. July 23, 2011 8:07 am

    I started a really cool one that was a little more than the basic chevron. I lost interest 1/4 the way through. But yours is so pretty, now I want one to wear. Must go back to it! I miss Joanns. I’m out of a yarn I need for my hexagon blanket and can’t get it here, but don’t know the brand or color so no way to match it. I’m bummed.

  6. July 23, 2011 2:10 pm

    Ohhhh noooo. I hate that! I tend to underbuy yarn and then end up scrambling to find a match. Tough. I solved that problem recently by buying 6 skeins to make a sweater. That always feels like such a big commitment to me though! I have a slightly more complicated bracelet I’m working on and I’m gonna get some pretty clasps for the back. I can’t wait! Let me know when you finish yours. I wanna see it.

Leave a Reply

