Skip to content

A Salad A Day….

July 1, 2011

I like salad. A lot. Ergo, I make lots of them. Am I boring you to tears yet? I hope not, because this was mighty tasty. I didn’t have any external recipe inspiration for this, but I have made lots of things similar, and just pulled from that.

  • ~2 cups of napa cabbage, thinly sliced
  • cucumber, cut into matchstick pieces (I used about 1/4 of a large English cuke)
  • carrots, cut into matchstick pieces
  • red pepper, cut into matchstick pieces (I know, we have a theme here.)
  • good handful of cashews, roughly chopped
  • basil, cilantro and mint, thinly sliced
For the dressing:
  • sesame oil
  • sherry vinegar
  • coconut oil
  • honey
  • salt and pepper
  • sesame seeds (optional)
Combine salad ingredients in a bowl big enough for mixing. In a small bowl, I just mixed together the dressing ingredients, until it tasted good. I know that’s a terrible recipe, but it’s true. You want a little more oil than vinegar, and a touch of honey. The sweetness balances out the vinegar, and it’s great with the herbs. Adjust your salt and pepper to taste.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 9:05 pm

    This sounds so good…and different! I have everything for it except sherry vinegar (will sub), must make soon!

  2. ilovefetacheese permalink
    July 3, 2011 11:26 pm

    looks delish!

Leave a Reply

