Skip to content

DIY: Happy Stripes

June 22, 2011
tags:

I pretty much couldn’t wait any longer to cast this on, and I started with yarn I already had, from Happy Feet (fingering weight sock yarn).  I had a skein hanging around in white, which I figured I’d use for the main color. Then, I went over to Windsor Button on my lunch break and bought the contrast colors from the same brand (it took me an eternity to decide on which colors).

This Stripe Study pattern is from the talented Veera Välimäki, from Rain Knitwear Designs.

I loved working in short rows, because I think they’re fun and they move the pattern along quickly. Also, it’s very easy to memorize and I knit the majority of this on the train.

My modifications: instead of 12 stripes, I made 10. I used a size 7 needle instead of 6, because I thought it seemed too dense with the smaller size. I am planning on making her Different Lines wrap at some point (though, it’s further down in my queue right now), and I’ll use a slightly thinner yarn when I make it. Maybe something lovely from Quince & Co

Here’s a shot where you can see the stripe variation from one side to the other:

Though, I like wearing it this way, best.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    June 22, 2011 1:38 pm

    I LOVE THIS!!! So gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

