Skip to content

Mmmm. Lemon Syllabub.

June 21, 2011
tags: ,

It’s kind of a fun word, right? Anne emailed me this recipe last Friday, and I read it on the train and immediately made it when I walked in the door. As it turned out, I had everything with which to whip it up. She was out of cream, and I did the test run.

What exactly IS syllabub, right? Here’s what Wikipedia says:

Syllabub, noun. (also sillabub, sillibub) is a traditional English dessert, popular from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century. It is usually made from rich milk or cream seasoned with sugar and lightly curdled with wine.

Now, I have no idea why the original image is so yellow, as cream and lemon juice (and even the zest of one lemon) yielded a very pale result for me. Anne and I speculate that food coloring may have been involved. But I digress. So, with that…if you’re looking for something super easy to make, that tastes impressive? Make this.

  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 Reisling wine
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • mint leaves for garnish
  • lemon slices for garnish

Using a mixer, whip cream and sugar until fluffy. It should hold peaks and look like whipped cream. Add in wine, lemon juice and zest. Continue to beat on a high speed for about a minute. Place into glasses and leave to chill in the refrigerator for about an hour or more. Garnish with lemon slices and mint.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 4:14 pm

    Looks wonderfully summer and refreshing!!!

    • June 21, 2011 4:25 pm

      Super easy! Michael said it tastes “restaurant quality”. I think it’s the wine, to be honest. It gives it a sparkling kind of taste.

  2. anne permalink
    June 21, 2011 6:40 pm

    Just an fyi, I used more wine wine (haha, surprised?), about 3/4c, and cut the sugar to 1/3c. I also used more lemon juice. Mine came out great too.

  3. June 21, 2011 11:54 pm

    sounds scrumptastic!!!

  4. June 22, 2011 12:52 am

    Oh my goodness…sounds like perfection! Our wardroom wives LOVE wine…I’ll be bringing this to our next get together. Thanks!

  5. June 22, 2011 3:12 am

    Wait. I….I could DO this. Me. Doing it. Actually. Not messing it up.

    Thanks for posting recipe…

Leave a Reply

