Skip to content

A Little Surprise Inside

June 15, 2011

I made these for no other reason than 1) I like corn muffins and 2) I thought these were really cute. I only made 6 of them because honestly, I bake a lot, and we are only two people. 

Here’s what I did, based on this inspiration:

  • 6 broccoli florets (you’ll want them to  be shorter than the muffin tin and have a study base so it doesn’t fall over, even without batter in there)
  • 1/2 cup corn meal
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp kefir

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine dry ingredients until well mixed. In a separate bowl, combine wet ingredients , and then blend into the dry mixture. You don’t need to overmix, but just enough to get rid of the dry cornmeal globs.

Pour batter 1/2 way up each muffin tin. (Note: I lined with silicone muffins liners first, which I simply LOVE. They make my life so much easier.) Put a broccoli piece in each one, tree side up. Fill with more batter until broccoli is completely covered.

Cook 20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean and finish by cooling on a rack. Enjoy!

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 5:10 pm

    CUTE!!!

  2. June 15, 2011 8:39 pm

    How cute! And maybe I can get my little one to ingest some green this way.

    • June 15, 2011 10:14 pm

      I think it’s definitely child friendly! I wonder what else would work in there? I kind of want to try with other fillings.

  3. June 15, 2011 10:46 pm

    I’m thinking asparagus with red pepper for my tastebuds!

    • June 16, 2011 12:33 am

      Oh I like it. I would recommend adding cheese. I omitted, but kind of wish I didn’t after.

  4. ilovefetacheese permalink
    June 16, 2011 6:22 pm

    OMG SO CUTE!!

Leave a Reply

