Skip to content

How do you measure, measure a year?

June 13, 2011

Five hundred twenty-five thousand, six hundred minutes. That’s how. Or about 2400 miles.

And last year, I did just that, in all of these:

I thought about calling this post, “To all the shoes I’ve loved before”, because really, it’s also appropriate. I know, I know. It’s a super musical day over here.

As I’m staring down the barrel of marathon season (18 week kick-off began this morning) I’ve been doing a bit of self-reflection. How did the last year go? Where am I going now? Will I meet my goals? What will it take to get me there?

When I’m running, I imagine various scenarios. I imagine my Boston qualifier, and running through with ease. I imagine my final time, and what it will feel like. I get choked up thinking about it – I want it so bad. I vasciliate just as quickly to sheer self-doubt and panic. What if I get there and it’s just not my day? What if my calves (which are tight as can be) are even tighter on race day? What if?

There is no real way of knowing. You put in your time and training, and you trust your training. And then you get out there and go for it. So today, I’m feeling like I’m gonna see what happens. Today’s lesson is: let go. Maybe if I unclench, my calf muscles will too. And getting my butt back in yoga class can’t hurt any.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 8:13 pm

    I’m rooting for you for you for your BQ! (something I’ve never had the desire for, likely because I know I could never achieve it). That’s a lot of love in those shoes! And yes…Unclench, let go, see where it takes you!

  2. June 13, 2011 9:20 pm

    Aw Sam, thank you! I’ve run it twice as charity only and I have been working hard at a qualification. Based on my 20 miler time, I need to shave 5 minutes. Here’s to unclenching and hard work and hoping. (And foam rolling and yoga. Man, my calves are like baseballs.)

Leave a Reply

