Skip to content

Weekend Adventure: Plymouth Food Truck Festival

June 6, 2011

I saw a tweet last week from @hiddenboston about the Plymouth Fabulous Food Truck Festival at Pinehills, and after a quick confer with Michael, we were bound for the south shore.

We’d wanted to hit up the Boston Food Truck Festival when it happened (August 2010), but I worried it would be mobbed. Kim confirmed all of my suspiscions. Glad we held out!

While this was super small, it was also really nice to get there early and spend the afternoon outside, and nibble at all kinds of things. I love eating outside!

The trucks represented at the Fabulous Food Truck Festival were: Grilled Cheese Nation, Jasper White’s Summer Shack, Bon Me, Kickass Cupcakes, The Eat Wagon, The Froyo Truck, Red Barn Coffee, Cafe Olio, The Market, and Long Ridge Wine and Spirits.  

We decided to start with cupcakes. Why not, right? We’re grown adults. Dessert first!

I got cookie dough and Michael got “lucky”, their lemon, white chocolate and ginger cupcake.

Review: at $3 a pop for stale cupcakes, I’d probably take a pass on these again. That said, these were terrific flavor combinations! I felt baking-inspired, for sure.

Next up: Grilled Cheese Nation.

Here is Michael, waiting in line while we tried to decide on what to get:

What we ended up getting: the Blue Man Goo (Iggy’s raisin bread with fig spread and blue cheese) and a shot of tomato soup. Verdict: amazing.

We made our way over to Cafe Olio for some Mayflower Porter beer for Michael:

Then, we were off to Jasper White’s Summer Shack for a little seafood! Look at this cute shrimp boil. How great is that? Michael got this, and I got a mini lobster roll.

We topped it off with a trip to the Froyo Truck:

We went over to The Market, which is a freestanding grocery store nearby. We picked up chimay and gouda cheeses, lacinato kale (which I used in the recipe below) and bread flour (I made the artisan bread yesterday).

And with that, we were out!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 5:40 pm

    It was stupid crowded. Buuuut had good trucks!

    I can’t wait to post our honeymoon blogs from Portland and our adventures with the food trucks there 🙂

  2. June 6, 2011 11:49 pm

    you are gorgeous 😀 And i loveee your bag. is it a speedy 25?

    • June 7, 2011 2:22 am

      Ah you are so sweet! I think the very same about you. And it is. 🙂 I adore my bag.

  3. June 7, 2011 8:10 pm

    A few comments…
    Nicole I spy your new LV (from LV)! And love the crisp white denim jacket!
    Michael you are stylin in those aviators!
    And I steal BOTH of your froyos!

    • June 7, 2011 11:02 pm

      I am LOL! I just told him. *shares froyo* Raspberry and dark chocolate want to be together. It’s true.

  4. June 8, 2011 2:56 am

    Oh my goodness, I want to recreate a blue man goo at home…wow! The fig jam from Gena @ choosingraw.com ‘s fig bars would be perfect. You are so gorgeous!

    Thanks again for helping me hash out a workout plan. I now feel much more motivated with a schedule to stick to and enjoying the utterly spent feeling that some weights and HIIT leave me with. Maybe I’ll shed a few of these many spare inches!

  5. June 10, 2011 2:44 pm

    A truck festival?!?!?! Looks like so much fun – I need to go to one asap!

    • June 10, 2011 4:04 pm

      It is SO much fun. This was a small one, but they’re popping up everywhere it seems!

Trackbacks

  1. Spectacle Island: Clambake! « OK, Let's Do This!

Leave a Reply

