Skip to content

DIY: Make a Cute Shawl (for Your Mom)

May 24, 2011

I started this shawl a couple of weeks ago, and planned to finish it on the flight to Las Vegas. My mom was taking me to the airport, and I showed her the pattern and work-in-progress (a.k.a. WIP). She loved it, and asked if I could make her one. Little did she know, I was making it for her! Also, she was head over heels in love with the yarn. It’s Malabrigo worsted in Apricot (Jimmy Beans Wool is having a fantastic sale on it).

The project just flew off my needles and the longest part was really just section 7 where you increase from about 200 stitches to 400. Otherwise, it’s so much fun and engaging! I love the little butterflies. Can you see them?

If you’re a Ravelry member, you’ll know that there are loads of free patterns to be had, and this is no exception. This Summerflies shawl by Holly and Ella Knits can be found right here. I hope you’ll enjoy as much as I did!

You can wear this over your shoulders as shown in the first pics, or this way, crossing the ends in the back:

Michael asked if I’d wear this like Little Red Riding Hood. Here we have it:

And finally, here’s a sneak peak at something I’m working on. This yarn is so gorgeous. I’ve had it almost a year and I sometimes wonder what I’m saving it for! When we were in Stowe, VT over last summer, we stopped by Stowe Fabric & Yarn, and I got this hand dyed merino/silk blend, with 2% silver. It’s sparkly! I’m making myself a pair of elbow length gloves.

Happy Knitting!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    May 25, 2011 4:01 pm

    Cute, but my mom would *never* wear that

  2. May 26, 2011 1:34 am

    What a good daughter! It would be cute if you made one of those circle scarves (I’m not sure what they are actually called)…eek!

Leave a Reply

