Skip to content

Racing and Training Schedules (Let’s do this!)

May 19, 2011

There are so many adorably named races that happen over the summer – I can barely keep from signing up for all of them. Moose on the Loose? There’s a Black Fly in my Eye? Run for Honey? Yes, please.

But. In order to fit in everything (read: daytrips, the beach, adventures, and not driving all over New England just so I can race cutesy named things), I can’t. And marathon training resumes on June 13th, which means everything else needs to scootch over.

I don’t know about you, but I end up having this inner tug of war. When I’m running distance, I want to work on my speed and run short races. When I’m in the throes of working on my pace, I feel jealous of anyone in the middle of full training. The only way to marry these two up, is to switch off, I think.

I am currently without a training schedule (4 weeks of nothing on the fridge, telling me what to do! How am I even functioning?), but in case you want to follow along, or even run Baystate with me (yay!), I’m using Hal Higdon’s Advanced Marathon Training I. I really like the Higdon plans, and I think I’ve mentioned before that I was strongly considering Pfitzinger’s 18/70. I think I’m going to stick with the tried and true. My rationale behind using version I vs II was that I needed a little wiggle room to get in kettlebells (Mondays and Thursdays) and hot vinyasa (Tuesdays) every week. I’m not sure how confident I feel in juggling these plus the Advanced II version. Also, I’ve used this plan before, with success (Black Cat).

So, the races!

Samantha’s Harvest 5K in Reading, MA
Sunday, June 12th

Take the Lake 5K in Wakefield, MA
Sunday, July 10th

Stowe 8 Miler in Stowe, VT
Sunday, July 17th

Baystate Marathon in Lowell, MA
Sunday, October 16th

I’m hoping the Melrose YMCA has another Spooky Sprint for Halloween, because I want to do that again. It’s not up yet. Undecided on anything holiday related (turkey trot? jingle runs?). A half marathon before the year is over would be nice, but not necessary.

What are you planning on racing? What do you use for a training program? 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becs permalink
    May 21, 2011 11:04 pm

    Our marathons are the same weekend! Of course I will be in baltimore and am aiming ot simply complete it with a fair amount of walking at this point!

Leave a Reply

