Skip to content

Sheep & Wool Festival: It’s Fluffy and Cute.

May 17, 2011

Every year, the NH Sheep and Wool Growers’ Association holds a Sheep and Wool Festival (sometimes referred to as a fiber fest). I first went with Anne (I know, I mention her ALL THE TIME) a few years ago, and it’s one of my favorite spring activities. The festival features demonstrations and talks ranging from sheep herding to spinning. It’s a great variety of everything you could want. And it’s only $5  for admission! 

Michael and I drove up on Saturday and went to check it out. He was thinking it’d be more the level of Topsfield Fair, and he was very relieved to see how small, friendly and spacious it was! (Read: having vendors spread out across several buildings makes everyone’s life so much easier.)

We started with lunch at a cart called Gamil’s. They serve Egyptian food. The lines were long, so we figured this was the place to be. Can’t lie, it was really good! I got a falafel and hummus wrap, Michael had lamb and rice with tahini, and we split the spanikopita.

We made our way to all of the vendors, beginning with my favorite, who makes beeswax handcream. She has no online option for buying, sadly. I pretty much sounded like I was begging her. I bought 3 jars of the original scent (2 for me, 1 to mail off to Anne), and was on my way.

We visited all the sheep and alpacas, stopping to pet them, see the awards, and for Michael to take pictures. I love being on farms! There is something so great about spending time outdoors with animals.

Things I hauled: 875 yards of some truly gorgeous merino/silk fingering weight yarn. It’s fate is slightly to be determined, but you can see me here, clinging to it while checking my Ravelry queue (to be sure of yardage). I am thinking a really gauzy shawl is in order. Or several lovely items. I have plenty!

Also hauled? Kettlecorn! Michael declared it the best kettlecorn he’s ever had. And I can’t disagree. I waited all year for it. We got the first new batch – and it was still warm. I wanted to wear it like a feed bag around my neck and just eat from it.

(Here I am, waiting patiently for my popcorn.)

It’s great to support the local fiber community – and to see the craft process from beginning to end. The good news is, you don’t have to wait all year for a fiber fest. Check out this network! I can guarantee you can find another one soon, no matter where you live!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 7:02 pm

    LOL, feedbag. Awesome mental image!

    Also, those sheepies? Are precious!!!

    • May 17, 2011 7:26 pm

      KK – I carried the bag on the drive home on my lap! Ask Michael – I could barely part with it! And they were so darling. Bleating and all.

  2. May 18, 2011 1:54 am

    I died a LITTLE bit when I saw the pic of the sheepies. And Nicole, your hair is lookin’ fine!

    • May 18, 2011 1:37 pm

      Oh thank you! I feel like I’m having a texture battle with this weather – misty rain and wind? Not helping! But I love that Pureology conditioner. It’s amazing. Thanks again for the rec!

  3. May 19, 2011 2:42 am

    you are soo pretty!! Awesome pics! Man I want some middle eastern food nownownow!

Leave a Reply

