Skip to content

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

May 3, 2011

I am not even kidding when I say once you try this, you’ll want it all the time. I came across this banana soft serve and cookie dough blizzard recipe (I know, right?) on Oh She Glows‘ blog. I practically ran out of the house to buy cashews, as I didn’t have any on hand.

If this were Yelp, I’d have checked in so often to this recipe, I’d be the Duchess of this blizzard. I even made the cookie dough bites for my sister for Easter. Direct quote from Michelle (that’s my sister),

“I am going to sleep with these under my pillow”.

Oh, and this is a vegan recipe. And I happen to make it with organic ingredients. It’s a serious dose of happiness. And for you runners out there, is there a better way to get your banana fix? I think not.

Inspired by and adapted from Oh She Glows.

For banana soft serve:

4 bananas, cut into 1″ pieces and frozen

4 tbsp coconut water

Freeze bananas for at least 2 hours. Remove from freezer about 5 minutes before blending. It makes the process easier. Place bananas and coconut water into food processor or blender. Blend until smooth, stopping and stirring as needed.

For cookie dough:

1/2 cup raw cashews

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1.5 tbsp sugar

pinch of salt

2 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp almond milk or water

1 oz chocolate of your choice (I like Trader Joe’s Semi-Sweet Callets. 6 discs are 1 oz.)

Combine cashews and oats in food processor until smooth. Add flour, sugar and salt. Pulse to combine. Add maple syrup and almond milk or water, and chocolate. I break the chocolate into smaller pieces (for easier combining in the processor) and then let it go. The final product will be sticky and look like it might fall apart. It won’t though. Press and roll into small bites and freeze if desired.

This recipe will yield all of the cookie dough you see pictured, minus whatever I ate while I was making it.

Add to your soft serve and enjoy! If you’d like, you can blend some of the cookie dough into the banana soft serve if desired, a la original recipe. I kind of plunk them in and then fish around for them. Personal preference.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    May 3, 2011 3:02 pm

    *Eats entire bowl and drinks you Zico*…..*burps* thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

