Skip to content

Gingersnaps amid chaos

April 13, 2011

The weekend was a blur. I’m not even sure what happened or how it came to a crashing halt, but it was over before we knew it. There was a bunch of running in there. A celebration of a coworker’s birthday. Family stuff. We went shopping on Sunday and hit up the mall! Lots of sales were happening this past weekend.

I remember the shopping because I bought jeans. And here’s the truth: I lean towards cheapie juniors jeans. I love Levi’s – what can I say? But I finally broke down and bought some Lucky Brand jeans. Those Lola Bootleg ones, actually. I got the shortest length and I still gotta hem at least 3 inches. I’ll be hemming and blogging about said hemming ASAP, since I want to wear them soon.

In the midst of all this, I got some baking done. Asked Michael what he wanted and he had two things on his mind: gingersnaps and Indian pudding. (This sparked confusion from me, since I was prepped and ready to make pudding reflective of the country, rather than of Native Americans. Good thing I asked.)

Last month, we took a trip to Penzey’s and went spice-crazy. We have this gorgeous ginger, and the boy just wanted gingersnaps. I’d never say no.

I adapted these from The Tampopo Post.

Preheat oven to 325.

1 cup whole wheat flour

1.5 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

3 tsp ground ginger

4 tbsp softened butter

1/3 cup + 1 tbsp sugar

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup blackstrap molasses

additional sugar for rolling cookies in

In stand mixer or by hand, cream together butter and sugar for 3 minutes. Add egg, vanilla and molasses.

Sift dry ingredients together, then add to wet mixture. Combine thoroughly.

Refridgerate for about 30 minutes (which is all I had patience for), until batter is chilled and roll-able. Roll into balls, roll into coarse sugar and then place on baking sheet.

Bake for 12-13 minutes, and set on cooling rack when done.

Hope you like them!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 3:22 pm

    I love Gingersnaps! Yum 🙂 I hope you feel better soon Nicole!

  2. April 15, 2011 9:05 pm

    I LOVE Penzeys!!!!

    • April 17, 2011 10:50 am

      Me too! What are your favorites? We bought so much. The sweet curry, Guatemalan cardamom and Green Goddess are my current favorites.

Leave a Reply

