Skip to content

It’s *easy* being green.

April 12, 2011

There are a few food items that you see on virtually every healthy food blogger’s site: green monsters, nut butters, overnight oats (I still and always will call it museli, and you can’t make me change that), and the ilk. I readily admit that 1) I love all of it, and 2) I have a minor green monster smoothie obession. Oh, and 3) I’m sorry if you’ve seen similar in other places and this is boring you to tears.

Santa brought us a Magic Bullet Blender for Christmas and here’s the truth: we’ve used it every day since it’s arrival. I can’t get enough green monsters, and I make them several ways.

I use the same the basics for all green monsters: 1.5-2 cups baby spinach, 1 scoop protein powder, 1 cup almond milk. The rest are variables. I’ll add a small banana or half of a large one. Frozen strawberries, pineapples and/or mango. Boosters include: spirulina, flax and/or chia seeds.

And lately, I’ve been experimenting with a mint chocolate green monster. Inspired by Oh She Glows, I decided to give it a go and change things up a bit.

Side note: whey protein is great for muscle repair, and for this reason, I love to have it after my morning run or lift session (mainly it’s running, because that is my primary sport,  but I lift twice a week, post-run, and I have 1-2 hot yoga sessions a week. I need protein!). Muscle Gauge is a brand I love because of the high quality whey. If you’re not up for that, you could easily sub a vegan protein powder, or greek yogurt.

And you know, unsweetened cocoa is just the icing on the cake. Twenty calories for that tablespoon, and it tastes so decadent.

Commonly asked statement/question combo. “That looks disgusting. Are you sure you can’t taste the spinach?”. Hmm, I think it looks lovely, and I love spinach. And sadly it doesn’t taste “like spinach”. I’m not even sure what that means (maybe there is a concern it will taste savory?). Spinach is so grassy and neutral. It picks up the flavor of whatever you happen to pair it with. So it’s just pretty and bright (more nutrients for you, yay!).

Recipe:

1.5 cups baby spinach

1 scoop Muscle Gauge Nutrition’s Pure Whey Protein in Vanilla

1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp spirulina

1/2 banana

3 mint leaves

1/8th tsp peppermint extract

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

Place all in blender of your choice and let it go until it’s fully incorporated. I can’t think of a better way to start my morning!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    April 12, 2011 1:31 pm

    Nothing i hate more than ‘that looks disgusting.’ my food might look gross, but at least my mother taught me manners.

  2. April 12, 2011 1:38 pm

    Ooooh, great idea!!!!

  3. April 12, 2011 1:42 pm

    You’d love it!

  4. April 13, 2011 3:23 pm

    I have YET to try a green smoothie. I did try a green juice once (kale, spinach, parsley, apple) and did not love it, but someone said I need to start with one that incorporates some sweetness. This one sounds great!

  5. April 13, 2011 10:51 pm

    Now that I have a juicer, I don’t do smoothies often (too much fiber!) but this one sounds good. I ❤ Mint!

Leave a Reply

