Skip to content

A Room of One’s Own

March 31, 2011

I am very sorry Virginia Woolf, that this has nothing to do with writing, but rather with other creative pursuits.

I love art projects and crafting. A new box of crayons were always a huge interest, but my parents got me an easel when I was 10, and I was pretty much off and running. I was 11 when I made a tiny hand sewn wall quilt. It was pretty hideous, actually, but I loved it.

I learned to knit about 10 years ago from the wonderful and amazing Dr. Edith Kaplan. What a blessing to have learned from her! My girlfriends are pretty crafty, too, and we love to talk about crafts.

My crafting supplies have sort of lived in our guest room for a while now, with me just scootching things into plastic drawers and hiding them out of sight. Michael and I talked about making some space for me to create and craft, and the result was a fun trip to IKEA and new storage for everything. We also got a new lamp. Now I can see everything, and it’s super organized. I love it so much! I am glad Michael suggested it. He also put all of this together for me. Lucky girl, right?

Here’s what it looks like now:

This is the 5-cube Expedit bookshelf from IKEA. We got the little baskets and the cube divider separately, to customize it.

Those are my needle rolls. Here’s a pic of the contents:

And this is what’s living in the drawers:

I am making this sweater, currently. It will now reside in the craft room when not being worked on (as opposed to the coffee table, whoops!).

I just made a wee pocket for the sweater, and I had this idea to make the pocket interior in a fun color. I used a bit of leftover Quince Yarn in Glacier, and I think it’s just darling.

I’m making a wall hanging quilt (a real one, haha!) right now. I’ve got material for a bed quilt, and I’m hoping to move on to making clothes at some point very soon!

You know I’ve said I like monograms, right? I present my craft bag:

One of my favorite touches in the room (aside from that gorgeous, antique family heirloom from Michael’s family – the rocking chair) is this vintage mirror I bought in an antique store in Newburyport. It’s lived with me in lots of apartments, but I love it here best.

Mirrors are only as good as what they reflect. What do we have here?

Thanks for checking out my little sanctuary! I think my needles want to fly just a little faster now. So many crafts, so little time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Monica permalink
    March 31, 2011 3:48 pm

    absolutely stunning

  2. March 31, 2011 7:46 pm

    It looks so lovely and homey!

  3. April 5, 2011 4:27 pm

    Nicole,
    Your room looks so cozy and cute! 🙂 I love it. And what a sweet hub.

  4. giselletellstales permalink
    July 22, 2011 8:04 pm

    Hi, I adored the photograph of the vintage mirror so much I decided to feature it as an image for today’s post. I have used your link as photo credit but if you wish for this to be changed, just let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

