Skip to content

A Little Epilogue

November 13, 2010

That PR listed below? Apparently it came with a medal! And it showed up in the mail on Wednesday.

Yep – top female runner from the YMCA! I didn’t even know. In fact, I so doubted I’d won, that the husband and I hightailed it out of there after, to go play and do other things for the rest of the day – skipping the award ceremony altogether. (Also, we had plans. I’m not just a jerk like that.)

A couple of days ago, Michael brought in the mail and thought the package from the YMCA was a heavy brochure. I heard a *thunk* on the table and we tore into it. The back of it reads “Top Female Runner 2010” – no lie. I actually called for clarification, so confused as I was by this.

I entered this race for this medal – I wanted to win it. I figured it was all very “shoot for the moon and land on a star” kind of deal, and happy I’d even placed.

Now, it’s hanging in the closet with the others. Where do you keep your medals? 😉

P.S. I’m working steadily on my speedwork, and extending that over distance. I have some goal times in mind for the Lowell 10K on New Year’s Day, and more still for Salem’s Black Cat 20 miler in March. (Another inaugural race. I love them so.) I’m using Hal Higdon’s Advanced 10K Training for Lowell. I recently learned I’ve been running my tempos too slow. I fixed that this past week (yowie). I also LOVE running race pace miles interspersed with non-race pace miles. It’s an adrenaline rush! Basically, this schedule is meant for speed, not distance, and right now, that’s just what I’m chasing.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becs permalink
    November 14, 2010 1:52 am

    My medals become my daughter’s play items… whether or not I want them to. lol

  2. November 15, 2010 2:36 pm

    Becs – I love it!

Trackbacks

  1. A birthday, a concert, some pie, a Victorian Fair and cell phone pics « OK, Let's Do This!

Leave a Reply

