Skip to content

CSA Week 12: 20 pounds of heirlooms

September 14, 2010

I may or may not have deleted the “class photo” of the  haul shot from week #12. Whoops. So, let’s see. Cantaloupe, peppers, apples, plums, peaches, fennel, corn, tomatoes and carrots. Also, I should mention this: egg share and a whopping 20 pounds of heirloom tomatoes.

I had grand plans for those tomatoes. Canning and such. Suffice as to say, if you’re canning, buy jars small enough to fit in the pot you’re planning to use as a makeshift canner, or buy a bigger pot. Our jars were about 3″ too tall for the pot. Answer: flash boiling tomatoes and freezing. Not romantic or cute, I know. But, I’m sure we will enjoy the summer crop, come cold weather.

Fennel Salad with Oranges

I love fennel because I love licorice and anise and all things of that variety. It’s an interesting little creature, in that, it likes to be paired with certain flavors. I think it’s best with oranges, in a traditional salad. I added slices of parmesan and almonds too, for a little crunch.

~1/2 bag of washed arugula

2 oranges, trimmed without pith

1 fennel bulb, trimmed and cut into thin pieces

2 tbsp sliced almonds

shaved parmesan to taste

zest and juice of 1/2 a lemon

olive oil

salt, pepper

Combine salad ingredients (minus parmesan) and drizzle on olive oil, lemon juice and zest. Add salt and pepper to taste. Combine to mix. Top with cheese if desired.

Barley “Risotto”

I typo’d this as “barely risotto”, and I guess that could work, too. I wanted to make something warm with the peppers we had, and this ended up as the winner. I had that parmesan hanging around the fridge, so it seemed like a natural choice, really.

1/2 cup pearl barley

3/4 cup water

3/4 cup skim milk

1 zucchini, cut into half moons

1 bunch asparagus, trimmed and cut in half

2 medium green peppers, cut into strips

olive oil

parmesan cheese

salt, pepper, italian herbs

Pour water and milk into a pot and bring to a boil. Add barley. When barley starts to simmer, reduce heat, add salt and pepper and cover. This will take about 45 minutes.

While that’s going, in another pan, add a little olive oil, and then sautee your vegetables. This will cook pretty quick. I tend to do this near the end of the cooking process of the barley. I use a mix of dried Italian herbs, but feel free to experiment here.

When barley is finished cooking, stir in parmesan cheese. You won’t need too much, just eyeball it. It’ll look like risotto.

Plate it up, top with a little extra cheese and you’re done!

Apple Carrot Muffins

So, I think I used up all the zucchini in the barley risotto. I’d intended these little babies to be zucchini muffins. No dice, since I couldn’t find said zucchini. However, we did have carrots. And apples. And these little silicon muffins liners I impulsively bought. (Go get yourself some, they’re fab.)

I dismantled this recipe, and instead did this to it:

1.5 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup coconut oil

1 egg

2 carrots, shredded

1 apple, diced

shredded coconut, for topping the muffins

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together your dry ingredients. I add my wet ingredients to the dry, right in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer and let it go. I can’t stand using too many bowls. Same results, in my opinion! Add in the carrots and apples. Pour into muffin tins. Top with a teeny bit of coconut. Takes about 15 minutes in the oven.

Blondies

This is all very “looks like a brownie, tastes like a cookie”. Here’s to hoping someone remembers that old commercial of women playing basketball in heels. Sound fantastic for the achilles. But I get it.

Anyway, these contain not a single vegetable or fruit. They do, however, contain our new eggs. And so, I threw it in, for good measure. As usual, Smitten Kitchen’s Blondie recipe, with my additions of chocolate chunks and walnuts.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

