Skip to content

CSA Week 10: Comfort Foods (kind of)

September 1, 2010

Week 10 – wow! I’m sure you can see, but I feel compelled to spell out what we got: corn, cantaloupe, yellow tomatoes, beets, blackberries, tomatillos, apples, new potatoes, green beans and french bread.

Melon and Mint Salad

I’ll open by saying something about my Mom: she has always said cantaloupe is really good for your skin. If you want to glow, have some melon. In addition to making your skin glow, I added some avocado, which is a good source of fat, and also good for your hair. Consider this beauty food. You’re welcome!

1 small cantaloupe, cubed

1/2 English cucmber, diced

1 avocado, cubed

good handful of mint leaves, chopped

ricotta cheese (I dropped small spoonfuls onto the salad and mixed. It blended right in. Note: you need just a small amount.)

Salt, pepper, touch of olive oil

Add all vegetables to a bowl. Plunk the mint on top, as well as the ricotta, salt and pepper. Toss. Drizzle with olive oil. You can serve as is, or over greens. (I saved some for lunch the next day, and ate mine over baby spinach, with a hard boiled egg on the side for protein.)

Cornbread Scones

I adapted these from The Milkman’s Wife‘s recipe. I really love her blog, so send her some love! I took a few liberties, and being without apricots, I did not make the glaze. Instead, I used honey. Turned out to be a win!

2 cups flour

1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons butter, cold and cut in 1/4 inch slices

1 tablespoon fresh chopped rosemary

3/4 cup fresh corn kernels (cut from about two ears)

1 egg

3/4 cups milk (I used 1%)

Egg wash

Preheat oven to 400. In a mixing bowl, combine your dry ingredients. Add butter pieces, and using a pastry blender (or potato masher, haha) mix until butter is about pea sized and dispersed throughout flour. Add a beaten egg, milk, rosemary and corn. Mix to combine. Roll out onto floured surface, and cut into triangles. Arrange on baking sheet, and brush surface with egg wash. Bake 15-20 minutes. Drizzle with honey.

Swiss Chard Wedding Soup

Using Italian Wedding soup as a jumping point, I decided to make a healthier version. There is nothing quite like the escarole and mini-meatball soup, but I wanted turkey meatballs, swiss chard and kidney beans instead. So, maybe it’s not quite the same thing.

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

2 celery stalks, chopped evenly

3/4 cup cooked red kidney beans (if using canned, rinse well before adding)

1/2 head of chard, sliced into ribbons

1/2 pound ground turkey breast

1 egg

1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs

salt, pepper, dash of garlic powder

parmesan cheese

3-4 cups chicken stock (I like low sodium)

1 bunch parsley, chopped

In a little olive oil, sautee onion and celery. When softened (5 mins) add the chard. You might need to cook this down in batches. Add broth, salt, pepper and bring to a simmer.

In another bowl, mix the turkey with egg, panko, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Shape into small meatballs and add to simmering soup. Partially cover and cook throughout. This takes about 15 minutes.

Add cooked beans to warm through, and parsley. Top with parmesan cheese.

Panzanella Salad (aka My Lunch)

We had this beautiful smoked mozzarella from CSA and I couldn’t bear to let it sit in the fridge even a moment more. And that french bread? And those tomatoes. One answer: panzanella. It means bread salad. I highly recommend it. It was a heavy running morning, and on those days, I don’t mind a little white carbs at lunch.

No real measurements for this, but this is pretty close. I ate this with 2 hard boiled eggs – my go to staple for protein. Also – this wins big comfort points with me, too. I think it’s the smell of basil.

French bread, cut into even pieces

2 yellow tomatoes, chopped

bit of smoked mozzarella, chopped

fistful of basil, sliced

pepper, salt, balsamic vinegar, olive oil

Once you’ve assembled your salad, top with pepper, salt and drizzle that really spendy balsamic and olive oil over it. I promise it’s amazing.

Roasted Potatoes with Dill

Another comfort dish. I always feel like roasted potatoes taste so truly decadent. And dill and I…we have a thing. I love it in everything. Even salad.

Potatoes

salt

pepper

olive oil

dill

Preheat oven to 375. I prefer the skins on roasted potatoes, but take them off if you dislike. Slice potatoes and drizzle (I say drizzle a lot, but I don’t know what else to call it) with olive oil, salt, pepper, and dill. Toss to coat. Cook about 45 minutes or until fork tender.

Ricotta cheesecake with Blackberry Compote

What’s more comforting that cheesecake? It’s got really good mouth feel. It can be eaten with a spoon. I think we went over my love of spoons before. It’s my preferred utensil. I adapted this recipe from Technicolor Kitchen. Additionally, the blackberries? So bitter. Anne (we have much love for her) suggested a compote, as sugar or honey would help. I went with honey and coconut, and as usual, good call.

I used these 2 sweet dishes to make 2 giant servings. Giant to me. Michael will argue it was definitely not “wife-sized”.

3/4 cup Annie’s Bunny Grahams

1/3 cup coconut

2 tbsp melted butter

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

1/2 cup cream cheese

1/2 cup sugar

juice and zest of a lemon

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 pint blackberries

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp coconut

Preheat oven to 300. You’ll need a food processor for this. To make the crust, combine first 3 ingredients and press into dishes. If you’re using muffin tins instead, press into those. 🙂

Combine all remaining ingredients in food processor. Pour over crust. Bake for 20-25 minutes, depending on size. Mine took longer due to the larger dish.

In a pot, combine blackberries, honey and coconut. Simmer until the blackberries break up. Top the cheesecakes with compote, and a little sprinkle of coconut, if desired.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

