Skip to content

CSA Week #7: Vacation, a bake sale, and a wee bit of cooking

August 2, 2010

For my birthday, we have started a tradition of roadtripping in celebration. Last year, we went to Nova Scotia. This year, we were Amish Country bound! For those of you keeping track at home, it’s July 26th. 🙂 So, after picking up our CSA share, we were off to PA! That also meant no cooking for five days!

We have a bunch of things happening, and one is the upcoming Falmouth Road Race, which we’re running in support of the Boston Bruins Foundation. We’ve got a small window in which to raise funds, so I threw a bake sale last week to try and help it out. I’ve included the photos of things I baked, too! (Seeing as this post would have been much smaller without it!)

Week #7 haul was: radishes, peppers, corn, blueberries, cabbage, green beans, mexican basil and Iggy’s cranberry walnut bread.

Braised Curry Cabbage

We stopped at the Bird-in-Hand farmer’s market on our way to Intercourse, PA, and pretty much bought all the spices they had for sale! There was a small Amish-run stand and I got, among other pretties, this “mild” curry powder. It smelled so fragrant and seeing as I was completely out at home, I needed to buy it. It turned out to be not so mild afterall, and that’s just how we like it in the Wade house. A little kick in the pants!

~15 cabbage leaves, cut into ribbons

good handful of green beans, trimmed

1 ear of corn, with kernels cut

curry powder

salt, pepper

olive oil

Trim thick parts of cabbage and slice into ribbons. Add a little bit of olive oil to the pan, and add your cabbage. Cook on medium low heat until it wilts. I like my cabbage to be pretty soft, so I cook about 25 minutes before adding my other ingredients. Sprinkle with curry powder, add salt and pepper. Add green beans and corn. Cover and simmer on low until done. We had it as a side dish and it made just slightly more than 2 servings.

Stuffed Peppers

I have made stuffed peppers about 100 ways, though my favorite is with risotto (ask my sister, she LOVES them). I realize there’s no rice in here, but in an attempt to detoxify us from too much of everything on our trip, I wanted a lot of protein and a lot of veggies. I like to precook my peppers because, in my opinion, there’s nothing worse than fully cooked stuffing innards and a giant raw green pepper. That said, I was doing about a million things at once, and overcooked these a tad. Whoops.

2 green peppers

1 scallion, minced

~10 mushrooms, sliced

~10 grape tomatoes, halved

1/2 pound lean ground turkey

1/2 cup black beans (washed and drained if using canned)

parsley

raw milk swiss

Preheat oven to 350 and cook peppers about 10 minutes. They should be soft and not losing their vibrant color (like mine are). In another pan, make the stuffing. Sautee scallions, mushrooms and tomatoes in olive oil until softened. Add turkey, breaking up with fork to cook through properly. Add salt, pepper, beans and chopped parsley.  Cut cheese into small pieces and add in. Stir until everything is melted and combined. Fill peppers, and top each pepper with a small bite more of cheese. Return to oven for a couple minutes to melt it down. Voila.

Quinoa Salad with Feta

I love quinoa! I do. It’s a perfect non-meat protein with all 8 amino acids present. I try to buy the washed kind, just because the grains are so tiny and they slip through the colander easily. I used red quinoa here (husband’s request, he likes the red version), and a bunch of vegetables I had in the fridge. I topped with feta because feta makes it bettah. (Note: I really love quinoa salad with beans or a hard boiled egg for extra protein.)

1 cup of cooked quinoa (according to directions on package)

diced red onion

corn kernels

2 large radishes, diced

handful of mexican basil

crumbled feta

salt, pepper

olive oil

balsamic vinegar

Assemble vegetables in a bowl. When quinoa is fully cooked, add hot quinoa to the vegetables. Sprinkle salt, pepper, olive oil and balsamic to taste. Add basil and top with crumbled feta cheese. Happy!

Triple Chocolate Brownies with Marshmallow Filling

I do admit I think these look tragically trashy. However, as I learned at the bake sale, people want trashy. They also want chocolate. Cook’s Illustrated has a brownie recipe I use, and I add chocolate chunks and cocoa powder to the base.

So, I put them in muffin cups because I am a nut about clean edges on things. I should just get this all-edges pan and call it a day:

http://www.bakersedge.com/

For the filling, I took about 1.5 cups of fluff, and whipped it with 1/4 cup heavy cream. Then, I piped it on and filled the brownies. Note: let the brownies cool completely before you fill them. Also, chill the marshmallow filling while they cool. It will make your life much easier.

Toffee-Coconut Blondies, Peanut Butter Chunk Cookies, and Maple Snickerdoodles

Another smattering of things I made for the bake sale. I have made this blondie base before, and it comes from the lovely Deb at Smitten Kitchen! I add toffee bits and coconut. I had repeats buys on these!

The peanut butter cookies can be found right here. I did not use peanut butter chips, however. Mine came out super fluffy, too!

Oh and the pretty little Maple Snickerdoodles. Just make them. I know it’s not chocolately or gooey, but five sweet students asked for the recipe. They came over in a group. It was really heartwarming.

I’m hoping the baking photos make up for the lack of cooking. I promise I was really busy in the kitchen!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

