Skip to content

CSA Week #4: a.k.a. It’s 9000 degrees in the kitchen and I’m going to die

July 12, 2010

It was so hot during week 4, that on two occassions, we actually went swimming after work. When you’re driving to the beach, at 5:30pm, AC on high, there is not a lot of cooking happening. I was avoiding the kitchen like the plague. Even making salad seemed to make me wilt! This is to say nothing of my sad hair….it’s going to be frizzy and angry until September.

And here’s what we hauled!

Week #4 meant: napa cabbage, cucumber, sugar snap peas, shelling peas, carrots, patty pan squash, black raspberries and raw cheddar.

Cucumber Salad

Super cool and refreshing – I love cucumbers in the summer! This was pretty simple and probably doesn’t warrant a recipe, but here’s what I put in there:

spinach

cucumber

grape tomatoes

avocado

scallions

chopped dill

raw cheddar

Assemble all in a bowl. Drizzle EVOO and balsamic over the salad. Top with kosher salt and coarse ground pepper to taste.

Salmon with Dill and Shelling Peas

This was a light meal that I made on the coolest day of the week! I roasted some asparagus in the oven (which goes really fast – less than 10 minutes). I shelled the peas and steamed them, then added a sprinkle of salt. They were pretty much perfect. The only item that might necessitate a recipe is the salmon. We used the dill from week 1, which is still going strong.

1 pound of salmon (cut in half, feeds 2 people)

equal parts olive oil and lemon juice

2 tbsp chopped dill

salt, pepper

additional dill and lemon slices

Make marinade by mixing all ingredients in a bowl, save for the additional dill and lemon slices. Adjust salt and pepper to taste. Brush marinade over fish, and if using rotisserie (like we did), assemble lemon slices and dill right before adding to basket. If you’re using a grill or oven, add lemon and dill before placing in foil. Wrap up, and cook.

Tempeh Salad

I have a soft spot for tempeh and tofu. I was vegetarian for 18 years of my life, and I still tend to lean that way. I usually eat these items for lunch (as to spare my poor husband from it!). So, I made a napa cabbage and mustard-marinated tempeh salad for lunch. Delicious.

napa cabbage, cut into ribbons

avocado

cucumber

tomatoes

scallions

raw cheddar

cilantro

3″x3″ block of tempeh, cut into cubes

equal parts dijon mustard and balsamic vinegar

EVOO

salt, pepper

Mix the dijon, balsamic and EVOO together. Cut the tempeh into bite sized pieces and pour 1/2 the mixture over the tempeh. In another bowl, assemble the cabbage, and top with layers of other veggies, and cheese. Put the tempeh on top, pour the rest of the dressing over the salad. Mangia!

Blueberry-Lemon &  Black Raspberry-Lime Popsicles

Look, even the popsicles are melting fast!! And my husband is quick on the trigger with the camera.

Here, I just made one round of simple syrup and employed the use of my immersion blender. I blended about a cup of black raspberries with the juice and zest of one lime and some simple syrup, and poured into molds. In another bowl, I blended all remaining blueberries I had, along with the juice and zest of a lemon. Added the rest of the simple syrup and poured into molds. Freeze for about 4 hours before you try to wrangle them out. Hahaha, I have no patience and tried at hour 2. LOL.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

