Skip to content

Countdowns, cookies and crane pose

May 10, 2010

Sheesh, the Wife sure has a lot to say, eh?

Lots is happening in our neck of the woods lately, so how could I not? We have T minus 11 days until race day. We’re fully back on track with yoga practice (I think there was a business trip in there somewhere that threw a monkey wrench in the plans). I will need to brag publicly and say that my husband has incredible balance. The only one left standing in the center of the floor during tree and crane poses. Heated Ashtanga? Tough stuff.
All this stuff requires fuel. And kitchen planning. And my favorite topic: What are we gonna eat?
Every shopping day goes the same way: I have tons of scattered ideas, and then I start soliciting him. What do you want me to make this week? Michael is always good for ideas of baked items. In the past week alone, it was Maple Cookie Bars and Pumpernickel Bread. I added in Strawberry Shortcake Cookies and Honey Butter (oh yes, this was a total blast; I can’t imagine buying butter again!). I noticed the maple bars seem to have the same longevity as the blondies I made with coconut. That is to say, don’t go looking for them tomorrow.
One can’t live on carbs alone. But it sure does help with glycogen stores.
Let me tell you about the Pumpernickel Bread. I am generally a very see-it-through person. I don’t give up easily, even if things should be abandoned. My father – he says I have a head like a brick. So, this is why it was so shocking that the first round of pumpernickel I made landed in the trash, even before I baked it. I didn’t like the look of it. I wasn’t feeling it. Meh. Off you go.
So this past weekend, after a month of baking other breads and ignoring that one, I gave it another whirl. And lo and behold, what do you know? Michael thinks it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread. (Speaking of slicing, if you don’t have one already, get thee a Shun Elite Bread Knife. You will thank me, I promise.) We slathered on some of that honey butter. Heaven. Next time I make it, I’m adding in caraway seeds though.
So what all is happening in the kitchen this coming week? Apple Walnut Chicken Salad. Polenta annnnd something. Mustard panko chicken legs and corn on the cob. And one tasty shepherd’s pie. Oh, and brownies. And french bread. Ok, I think that’s it.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

