Skip to content

Dark (but not dreary!) Photos of Stuff (food, knitting, what else is new?)

October 30, 2012

This dark and stormy weather makes for terrible photos. I actually finished a project over Sunday/Monday. I made a big, fluffy cowl for a girlfriend, and all I have are these quick and dirty pics because it’s being mailed to her tomorrow. It’s the Gap-tastic Cowl from Ravelry (free, again!) and I made it with Cascade Eco + in Wild Rose Heather.

The Cupcake Mitts (another Rav freebie) was made on size 3 needles, with some leftover Valley Yarn in DK that I had wanted to use up. I knit most of these before the storm, but finished them up on Sunday.

Michael asked me to make something with apples that was “anything other than baked apples”. Ok FINE. Apple Almond Cake. This is from Enchanted Broccoli Forest, one of the Moosewood Cookbooks. I swapped out gluten free flour. Lovely.

And tonight, I made this happy salad. I have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Um, YUM.

Here is the link for this Sprouts and Apple Salad from Cook for your Life. I added the rest of our celery for extra crunch. That was the only change I made.

And because I can’t go too long without talking about running, I downloaded Pfitzinger’s Advanced Marathoning, and I am ravenously reading it. Taking it a little easy this week on the running. Getting in some more yoga (I did a bunch of handstands before work, during a 60 minute practice and I felt AMAZING! I still do them near the wall but hey, I am trying!), and some weights. I want to come back swinging. I was torn between the 55 or 70 schedules. I am still a little unsure, but I am leaning towards the 55. I am pretty comfortable with mileage around 60 miles a week, so I figured if I have quality training around 55 miles a week, should be good.

And there we have it. I hope you had a less stormy Tuesday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2012 11:23 am

    That cowel is AMAZING! I wish I could knit!

    • October 31, 2012 12:16 pm

      Thank you so much! I would teach you if we lived close. :) But if you want to self-teach (also easy), Knit Witch on YouTube. Anything I can’t figure out, I just go see if she has a video I can watch.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

