Skip to content

Separate but equal: A tale of one egg

April 24, 2012

If I’m going to make meringues, I need to have a plan for the yolks. I can’t bear to toss them. Conversely, I’d also feel bad tossing the whites.

I was making meringues for Maureen’s birthday and decided to use the yolks to make a vanilla bean custard.

First, the meringues. I found this recipe from a Polish blog and clicked for the English version. Super easy. The only tweak I made was adding Meyer lemon zest in addition to juice.

Once your egg whites look like fluff, you’re ready to rock and roll. I really do need a proper pastry bag, it’s true. Suffice it to say, my meringues weren’t as fancy looking as the original.

Pipe onto parchment paper and bake for 75 minutes at 220*F.

Ready to go into the oven:

While those were baking, I used my time to make the Vanilla Bean Custard. I found this recipe from Bite My Thumb. I had 6 yolks (seeing as I’d used 6 eggs whites), so¬† I doubled the recipe. Here’s what I did:

  • 6 yolks
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • seeds of one vanilla bean, scraped
  • 6 tbsp sugar

Using a double boiler, combine yolks and milk. Bring water to a boil and then reduce to a simmer as you cook. You don’t want to scramble the eggs. Add sugar and vanilla bean and continue to cook until thickens, whisking often. This took about 30 minutes for me. It would take less time if the recipe were halved and/or using cream instead of milk. Was still very rich tasting.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Maureen permalink
    April 27, 2012 10:57 pm

    The Meyer lemon meringues were unbelievably light, crisp and delicious, the presentation of them in the cute box with a window, paper doily, and pretty black and white ribbon was gorgeous, and the thoughtfulness was priceless. I am so lucky to know you Nicole!

  2. April 29, 2012 1:49 am

    Another excellent (but not exactly gf) recipe for yolks…momofuku milk bar crack pie! I made meringues for the first time a month ago, so good! Yours are beautiful and lemon, so fresh!

    • April 29, 2012 9:28 pm

      Yes! I can’t wait to make it for Michael and the boys he works with! I made them brownies last week (Cook’s Illustrated recipe) and it was a huge hit. They’ve been working their butts off – needed a treat. Next up is the crack pie. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

