Skip to content

I promise I don’t eat only sugar.

January 11, 2012

I really do promise I don’t just eat like, cans of frosting or something. I feel like I only showcase baked things and not what I think of as “real food” or things I actually eat.

In fact, I do an 80/20 primal split. No joke – I love it. I’ve been doing this about a year or more, and I know, I don’t usually talk about my diet on here.

Feeling like I needed to get back to myself (hey, I was brushing my teeth to avoid eating those amazing cinnamon buns!) I made this little happy meal. Ha.

Mustard Tempeh and Detox Salad

I took pretty much both recipes from one I saw on Cate’s World Kitchen, minus the polenta she paired with it.

I made minor changes to the salad (from Oh She Glows’ blog) and the only changes I made to the tempeh was to replace the shallot with scallion (that was all I had on hand).

I had never thought to put salad ingredients into my food processor! I loved it. I can’t wait to make it again. I used things I had that were similar, and I ate this up in 3 servings. Yes, it’s a lot of salad.

Detox salad:

  • large head of broccoli
  • 8 large kale leaves
  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • lots of cilantro
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • salt and pepper to taste

I used my Kitchen Aid processor to first chop up the broccoli. After that, I removed it all and started again with the kale. I used bagged shredded carrots because I had some on hand. I just combined everything and squeezed the lemon over it. That was it! I could NOT stop eating it.

I am going to make another batch when we go shopping again. I’ve already eaten all the broccoli in the house. Whoops.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellie permalink
    January 12, 2012 11:18 am

    Do you mean to say that you didn’t eat ANY of those mouth-watering buns??? Surely a bun or two would fit into the 20%?? Thank you for sharing the recipe, I have it bookmarked :-) (it’s my first time commenting but I love looking at your recipes!)

    • January 12, 2012 1:23 pm

      You made me laugh! I cannot lie – I sampled! Did I eat a whole one? ….No. At least not all at once, but probably over the course of the week. *RUNS AND HIDES* Thanks so much for commenting – I appreciate it. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

