Skip to content

Marinated Miso Tofu: Same thing, only different

November 18, 2011

I saw this recipe on Cate’s World Kitchen and had to make it right away. I am going on record as saying it’s about the best thing I’ve made in maybe six months or more. No joke. That cinnamon raisin bread though, was delicious. But that’s baking, so it’s  not in the same category.

Ok, so I thought I had everything to make this. As it turned out…I not only didn’t have maple syrup, I also was missing soy sauce. And I’d used my delicata squash already.  Le sigh.

Fear not, I instead used agave (lower on glycemic index scale, wahoo!) and I made a soy sauce replacement. I also used acorn squash. I know, right? So, even with those changes, this was outstanding. Please make it. You won’t regret it, I promise.

And it’s a terrible photo because it’s inside, and I had to snap it quick because I was about to eat it all myself.

  • 1/4 cup white miso
  • 1/4 cup agave
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (I made my own using vegetable broth in this recipe right here)
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 block extra firm tofu pressed and cut into dice
  • 1 acorn squash, roasted and cubed
  • broccolini, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • oil for sauteeing

Preheat oven to 375*. Cut acorn squash in half and roast for 40 minutes or until easily pierced with a knife. Let cool.

While squash is roasting, prepare your tofu. Press out water. In a large bowl, combine miso, agave, soy sauce, mirin, rice wine vinegar and sesame oil. Whisk until combined. Dice tofu and add to marinade. Let tofu hang out in the marinade while the squash cooks.

When the squash is cool enough to handle, cut off skin and cut into even pieces. Add oil to sautee pan and add broccolini. Cook about 5 minutes,  until tender.

Using a slotted spoon, remove tofu from marinade. Don’t throw out the marinade! Cook tofu with the broccolini. Keep flipping so you get all sides of the tofu. Add squash and the reserved marinade.

I think you could serve with rice if you wanted, but I ate this exactly as is. It. Was. AMAZING.

I will  probably make more versions of this (same marinade though) and mix up the vegetables to add more greens. I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

