Skip to content

A birthday, a concert, some pie, a Victorian Fair and cell phone pics

September 12, 2011

Friday was Michael’s birthday, and there was only one way he wanted to celebrate: Dropkick Murphys concert in Fenway Park! Happy Birthday, baby!

We didn’t take the precious camera to the concert, so we have a few cell phone pics to start off the post.

Me, en route to the concert (Boston pride, all the way!):

At Fenway, Michael got the “red seat”! He was pretty excited. The red seat signifies the longest home run ever hit in Fenway, by Ted Williams. It measured 502 feet.

The birthday boy:

The Street Dogs opened, followed by Mighty Mighty Bosstones and then Dropkicks. It was the first time I’d seen Mighty Mighty Bosstones in concert, and they were SO MUCH FUN. If you have the opportunity to see them, definitely do it.

On Saturday morning I had a 10 miler at race pace (ran an 8:13 average), and let me tell you, I was a little tired! I like to hit the road pretty early (5:30), but after that late night, I got started at 8, haha.

Michael ran off to the Sam Adams Brew Fest, and I went on a shopping spree with my sister. We hadn’t shopped together in a long while, and it was so much fun!

After I came home, I made Michael’s birthday pie. I asked him what he wanted this year, and he said “a coconut cream pie, with toasted coconut”. Ask and ye shall receive.

Here’s what I did:

I halved the crust recipe for the Perfect Pie Crust from Simply recipes. You can find that right here.

I made the crust, and put it into the fridge to let it chill, while I worked on the filling.

Filling was inspired by First Look, Then Cook.

  • 2 cups milk (I  used 2%, because it’s what we had)
  • 1 cup half & half
  • 1 vanilla bean, scraped
  • 1.5 cups shredded sweetened coconut
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 egg yolks

In a pot on the stove, bring the milk, half & half, vanilla bean and coconut to a simmer. Shut off as soon as it simmers. Let cool about 10 minutes.

In a smaller bowl, combine all remaining ingredients (just whisk them together). You want to temper the egg mixture so it doesn’t scramble. Add a ladle of the warm milk to the egg mixture, and whisk to combine. When thoroughly combined, put the egg mixture into the pot on the stove. Bring to a boil, then shut off.

Preheat oven to 350*.

Roll out dough, place in pie plate. Cover with tinfoil (helps your crust to not burn). Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Remove and let it cool. If you have no patience and are running out of time, you can cool the crust in the fridge. I totally did that with no adverse reactions.

When the pie crust is cool, fill with the coconut custard.

In a stand mixer, combine heavy cream, some powdered sugar and a drop of vanilla extract. I never measure. Just sort of add things until it looks and tastes good.

Toast a little coconut in the oven on 350*. Watch to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Cover the custard in whipped cream. Top with toasted coconut. Make your husband proclaim it’s the “best pie I’ve ever had”.

There ya go.

But wait! There’s more! On Sunday, I got in a 20 mile run in the morning (honestly, I felt like I could have run it twice. The legs were feeling really happy. Ran it a minute slower than race pace, and finished up with a 9:16 average.). Then, we went down to the fair in town (please tell me someone else sings Martina McBride’s Independence Day when they read that line!).

Melrose holds a Victorian Fair every year on Main Street. It’s a 5 minute walk from our house, so down we went.

You must know by now that we run into our friends Lorenzo and Emily all over town. They’re the owners of Coffee, Tea & Me. Look how cute they are:

These two bundles of energy have 4 children and run this business AND yes, they always look that smiley!

We saw Uncle Sam, on stilts:

A real life statue:

We  got lunch at Rang Bistro (they’re over in Stoneham, and we LOVE them. If you go over, see Hari and tell him Nicole and Michael sent you!):

It was so packed, poor Michael was doing his best to take photos in such a crowded place.

Also, this is how I eat kettlecorn:

Yes. Just like a horse with a feedbag. Isn’t Michael lucky to be married to me??

And remember Spooky Sprint from last year? I took the prize for top female YMCA runner. It’s baaaaaack. And I am coming back for another medal. Let’s see how fast these legs are, 2 weeks post-marathon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovefetacheese permalink
    September 12, 2011 6:36 pm

    Eeee is it almost Halloween time already? I can’t believe how this year has flown by. You have the cutest smile BTW!! As always, your food looks amazing. NOm nom pie.

  2. September 12, 2011 9:00 pm

    Thank you so much!! And I know. I can’t believe it, either! (The pie? Worth every little calorie.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

