Skip to content

Girls Girls Girls (no Mötley Crüe required)

June 9, 2011

Fewer things make me feel better than reconnecting with my girlfriends and laughing. I swear these girls make me feel about 17. We get together with the intention of eating and talking and knitting. What we actually do: talk so much that we try to budget our talk-time so we can fit in everything we need to share, and drink wine and laugh. The knitting? We never seem to have time for that. It becomes more like a five-minute round of crafting show-and-tell before we all have to go home. (Pertinent details: Melissa finished her first lace project (a pink cowl, really gorgeous, adapted from the pattern link) and made 2 pairs of baby pants, and Andrea is deciding on a first project. After much practice knitting, Melissa and I shrieked when we saw her stitches. She is ready for lift off!)

We decided what would be better than a picnic on Wednesday night? Nothing we could think of. So, we plunked ourselves down on The Knoll in Melrose, and scared away the geese. (The mosquitoes were much less afraid.)

I made that pineapple quinoa I’ve mentioned a few times around here, and Melissa brought the fixings for vegan strawberry shortcake (Tofutti ice cream, angel food cake and strawberries!). I brought a bunch of cherries and wine. I think I ate most of the banana chocolate chip muffins that Melissa made. Couldn’t resist!

A little shout-out to Andrea: she is moving into the most adorable abode, and we are very excited for her (gorgeous building, nearly floor to ceiling windows, a delicious and spacious porch). So, we had to celebrate that, of course.

We really need to do this more often!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    June 9, 2011 6:47 pm

    You are too cute to blog our little outing!! Hugs and love!

  2. June 9, 2011 9:04 pm

    Ohhh, I know what I’m making for lunch! Girl time is so great…I miss having that! Your park date sounds fab!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

